Select Language


FIFA Women’s World Cup; History of female coaches in the German Squad


Germany are one of women’s footballs most successful teams of all time.  With 8 appearances and 2 wins in the World Cup, 10 appearances and 8 wins in the European Championships and 3 bronze Olympic medals and 1 Gold Olympic Medal – you can’t really disagree!

Since the beginning of the squad in 1982, the national team has had 5 full time coaches (and 1 interim coach) which breaks down into having 1 male coach (and 1 male interim coach) and 4 female coaches at the helm.


Timeline of Coaches


Gero Bisanz was the first coach of the women’s national team. He selected his first squad in September 1982. At the same time, he also worked as the chief instructor for DFB coaching training from 1971 to 2000. Bisanz led the German team to three European Championships in 1989, 1991 and 1995. Under Bisanz, Germany also was runner-up at the 1995 Women’s World CupHe resigned after the German team was eliminated in Round 1 at the 1996 Summer OlympicsWith his assistant since 1983, Tina Theune, he built a scouting system and was responsible for a new DFB youth programme.



Tina Theune took over as head coach after the 1996 Summer Olympics. She was the first woman to acquire the highest German football coaching license.   Theune was responsible for three European Championship titles in 1997, 2001 and 2005.  During her time as head coach, Germany won the bronze medal at the 2000 and 2004 Summer Olympics.  Her biggest success was the 2003 Women’s World Cup title.  Theune is the most successful national coach to date.  She benefited from an effective youth programme and integrated several Under-19 players into the nation team. Theune stepped down after winning the European Championship in 2005. 




Silvia Neid was the team’s assistant coach from 1996 to 2005 and the head coach of the German Under-19 team, who won the 2004 U-19 Women’s World Championship In July 2005, she became the team’s head coach and the 2006 Algarve Cup marked her first tournament win.   By winning the 2007 Women’s World Cup, Neid became the first German national coach (men’s and women’s team) to win the World Cup at the first attempt.   At her first Summer Olympics as a coach in 2008, Germany won the bronze medal for a third time. Neid was also responsible for Germany’s seventh European Championship in 2009. She was signed until 2016, and her assistant was Ulrike Ballweg. 




On 30 March 2015, DFB announced that Steffi Jones would become the new German head coach in 2016. Post-retirement, Jones served as president of the organisation committee of the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup, held in Germany.  She subsequently obtained her coaching license at the German Sport University Cologne. After serving as assistant manager of the national team under Silvia Neid, Jones assumed the position of head coach in August 2016.  She was released on 13 March 2018.




Horst Hrubesch took over as the interim head coach in 2018.  Hrubesch was head coach of Germany’s B team from 22 March 1999.   He was appointed assistant coach of Germany’s A team on 8 May 2000.   The coaching staff was reconstructed on 26 March 2002 with Uli Stielike becoming the new head coach of Germany’s B team.   In 2008, Hrubesch won the European Championship with the Germany U–19 team.   On 9 January 2009, Hrubesch was named interim coach of the Germany U–21 team.  Rainer Adrion was unavailable to become the permanent head coach until the summer.   In June 2009, he guided Germany to the final of the 2009 UEFA Under-21 Championships where they defeated England Under 21s by 4–0.   On 11 November 2009, it was announced that he will begin to work as U-19 coach of the DFB. He returned to the Germany U–21 team after Rainer Adrion was sacked on 21 June 2013.   At the 2016 Summer Olympics, he was the coach when Germany won the silver medal. On 13 March 2018, he was appointed as the interim head coach for the German women’s national team




Martina Voss-Tecklenburg then became the new coach in 2019.

After the end of her active career as a player, Voss-Tecklenburg worked as a team manager for the Oberliga club SV Straelen. Full-time as a PE teacher association, she takes care of female selection teams in the Lower Rhine.  She is also chief editor of the women’s football magazine “FF”.

From 12 February 2008 to 17 February 2011 she was the head coach of FCR 2001 Duisburg With Duisburg, Voss-Tecklenburg won the UEFA Women’s Cup in 2009 and two national cups in 2009 and 2010. Her contract was ended on 17 February 2011. In June 2011 she signed a one-year contract at Bundesliga side FF USV Jena but she left the team next January as she was appointed the Swiss national team‘s new coach. 




Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *